Teaching‎ > ‎

CMPN206 Spring 2014: Multimedia

Information

This course covers basic multimedia concepts (text, images, audio, and video), and then delves into multimedia coding and compression techniques (lossy and lossless) and surveys some coding standards.

Textbooks

  • Fundamentals of Multimedia. Li and Drew. [FM]
  • Introduction to Data Compression. Khalid Sayood. [IDC]

Schedule

 Date Topic  ReadingSlides  Homework  Deadline
 Thursday 13 Mar. 2014  Introduction

  (pdf)
 
   Multimedia Representation  FM Ch. 3, 4, 5, 6 (pdf)  HW1 (data)  Saturday 22 Mar. 2014
 Thursday 20 Mar. 2014 Entropy and Huffman Coding FM Ch. 7
 IDC Ch. 2, 3
 (pdf) HW2 (data) Saturday 29 Mar. 2014
 Thursday 27 Mar. 2014 Golomb and Arithmetic Coding FM Ch. 7
 IDC Ch. 3, 4 
 (pdf) HW3 (data)  Monday 7 Apr. 2014
 Thursday 3 Apr. 2014     Dictionary Coding
 
 FM Ch. 7
 IDC Ch. 5
 (pdf) HW4 (data Friday 18 Apr. 2014
 Thursday 10 Apr. 2014 Quantization  FM Ch. 8
 IDC Ch. 8, 9, 10 
 (pdf)   HW5 (data Friday 25 Apr. 2014 
 Thursday 17 Apr. 2014 Transform and Differential Coding  FM Ch. 8
 IDC Ch. 11, 12
 (pdf) HW6 (data Friday 2 May 2014
 Thursday 24 Apr. 2014 Subband and Wavelet Coding
 
 FM Ch. 8
 IDC Ch. 13, 14 
 (pdf HW7 (data) Tuesday 13 May 2014
 Thursday 1 May 2014 Image Compression  FM Ch. 9 

 (pdf) HW8 (data) Tuesday 20 May 2014 
 Thursday 8 May 2014 Video Compression I
 
 FM Ch. 10 
 IDC Ch. 18
 (pdf HW9 (data) Tuesday 27 May 2014 
 Thursday 15 May 2014 Video Compression II 

 FM Ch. 11 
 IDC Ch. 18
 (pdf)  
 Thursday 22 May 2014 Audio Compression  FM Ch. 13, 14
 IDC Ch. 17, 16
 (pdf)  
          



Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 15, 2014, 12:26 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW01.zip
(13k)
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 12, 2014, 6:28 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 20, 2014, 5:26 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW02.zip
(210k)
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 28, 2014, 3:23 PM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 3, 2014, 5:22 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW03.zip
(210k)
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 30, 2014, 3:06 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 6, 2014, 12:58 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW04.zip
(210k)
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 6, 2014, 12:58 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 15, 2014, 12:15 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW05.zip
(211k)
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 15, 2014, 12:15 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 20, 2014, 3:22 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW06.zip
(211k)
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 20, 2014, 3:22 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 28, 2014, 8:50 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW07.zip
(210k)
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 28, 2014, 8:50 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 10, 2014, 3:23 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW08.zip
(211k)
Mohamed Aly,
May 10, 2014, 3:23 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 27, 2014, 11:41 AM
ċ
CMPN206 HW09.zip
(3386k)
Mohamed Aly,
May 15, 2014, 7:37 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 12, 2014, 1:27 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 12, 2014, 1:27 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 20, 2014, 5:26 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 30, 2014, 3:08 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 3, 2014, 5:22 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 10, 2014, 7:10 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 17, 2014, 4:53 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 24, 2014, 4:30 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 1, 2014, 8:20 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 8, 2014, 5:05 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 15, 2014, 7:36 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 22, 2014, 2:35 AM
Comments