Teaching‎ > ‎

CMP462 Spring 2014: Natural Language Processing

Information

This course covers basic Natural Language Processing concepts. Topics include: language modeling, spelling correction, sentiment analysis, parsing, text classification, information retrieval, ... etc. We will closely follow Coursera's two NLP classes: that by Jurafsky and Manning, as well as that by Collins.

Textbooks

  • Speech and Language Processing (Second Edition). Daniel Jurafsky and James Martin.
  • Foundations of Statistical Natural Language Processing. Christopher Manning and Hinrich Schuetze.

Schedule

 Date Topic Slides  Homework  Deadline
 Thursday 27 Feb. 2014  Introduction

 (pdf)
 
   Basic Text Processing  (pdf)  Spam Lord (data)  Saturday 15 Mar. 2014
 Thursday 6 Mar. 2014  Language Modeling and Spelling Correction  (pdf)  Autocorrect (data)  Saturday 22 Mar. 2014
 Thursday 13 Mar. 2014  Text Classification and Sentiment Analysis   (pdf  Sentiment (data)  Saturday 29 Mar. 2014
 Thursday 20 Mar. 2014  Maximum Entropy Models and NER 

 (pdf  NER (data)  Saturday 5 Apr. 2014
 Thursday 27 Mar. 2014  Hidden Markov Models and POS Tagging   (pdf  HMM (data  Saturday 12 Apr. 2014 
 Thursday 3 Apr. 2014  Parsing I: PCFGs and CKY 

 (pdf  PCFG (data)  Saturday 19 Apr. 2014
 Thursday 10 Apr. 2014  Parsing II: Lexicalized and Unlexicalized Parsers   (pdf)  CKY (data)  Saturday 26 Apr. 2014
 Thursday 17 Apr. 2014  Information Retrieval 

 (pdf  IR (data)  Saturday 3 May 2014
 Thursday 24 Apr. 2014
 Midterm 

 Thursday 1 May 2014  Machine Translation I 

 (pdf)  MT (data  Saturday 10 May 2014 
 Thursday 8 May 2014  Machine Translation II
 
 (pdf)    
         



ċ
CMP462 HW01 Data.zip
(139k)
Mohamed Aly,
Feb 22, 2014, 10:30 PM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Feb 22, 2014, 10:30 PM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 7, 2014, 4:39 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW02 Data.zip
(55k)
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 7, 2014, 4:39 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW03 Data.zip
(3881k)
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 20, 2014, 12:55 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 20, 2014, 12:55 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW04 Data.zip
(676k)
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 20, 2014, 1:00 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 20, 2014, 1:00 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW05 Data.zip
(952k)
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 27, 2014, 12:28 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 27, 2014, 12:28 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW06 Data.zip
(32k)
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 3, 2014, 5:48 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 3, 2014, 5:48 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 10, 2014, 12:40 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW07 Data.zip
(368k)
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 10, 2014, 12:40 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW08 Data.zip
(10971k)
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 19, 2014, 3:13 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 19, 2014, 3:14 AM
ċ
CMP462 HW09 Data.zip
(541k)
Mohamed Aly,
May 1, 2014, 8:24 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 1, 2014, 8:24 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Feb 22, 2014, 10:30 PM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Feb 22, 2014, 10:30 PM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 7, 2014, 4:37 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 20, 2014, 12:54 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Mar 27, 2014, 7:53 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 10, 2014, 7:08 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
Apr 17, 2014, 11:19 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 1, 2014, 8:23 AM
Ċ
Mohamed Aly,
May 15, 2014, 7:47 AM
Comments